Instrument rental
  • Français
  • English
Legal NoticePrivacy Policy

Lyrical Baroque Ensemble


H.I.F Biber 1644-1704

Splendid, ambitious, Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber's "Harmonia Artificiosa" is a work that delivers all the talents of its author and marks the budding virtuosity of the violin. It is a tour de force and is defined as the culmination of technical and stylistic research. With it, the violin takes on a new place in the string family.

A collection of seven sonatas for string instruments and continuo, it is the last work composed by Heinrich Biber. He dedicated it to his daughter, Rosa Henrica, who then set off for the Benedictine convent of Nonnberg.

In our program, the work is accompanied by "Sonata da Chiesa" by A.Corelli, and a trio sonata "Perseverantia" by G.Muffat, both contemporaries of Biber, who roamed Europe at that time and who have colored their music with various influences and techniques as a result of that cultural exploration. Between them, Biber, Corelli and Muffat achieve a synthesis of “tastes united”.


Musical direction: Sébastien d'Hérin

2 violins, viola da gamba, organ and harpsichord; possibility of a theorbo.
A total of 5 musicians